Forum

Designers Flaming Contest Holders?

Client
Hi

I've been working as a CH with LogoTournament for over 6 months and have run two successful competitions and had excellent interactions with the talented designers on this site during that time. Always without a hitch.

Consequently I have recommended this place to friends, colleagues - tweeted it etc and I know some of them have also come here for their logo's.

So imagine my surprise today that less than 24 hours into a competition (30under30) following my initial ranking I get flamed by an irate designer whom I'd had no previous contact with?

The first message reads:

Subject: wow Im out of this contest

May 16th, 2009, 3:41am

you have the worst taste I ever have seen !! cant believe who you put up top and chose not I unbelievable!!

So I reply:

May 16th, 2009, 3:52am

Thank you for your comments.

We are less than 1 day into a 7 day contest and I'm simply indicating a direction based on the submissions received so far. None of the submissions are even close to what I am looking for and having run 2 successful competitions on this system I think I know what I am doing.

By rejecting certain submissions I provide the design community on this site with an indication of what is not working. By ranking and keeping certain submissions then a good designer will be able to gain an understanding of what is required.

Maybe you just didn't understand the brief - this is commercial design, it's not art. It is for a purpose. If you don't understand this you may be following the wrong career path. Flaming your clients is not an appropriate response.

Have a good day and good luck

Graham

To which they respond:

May 16th, 2009, 3:59am