Forum

Question for contest holders

Logo Designer
Hello to all LT contest holders! As a designer, I was just hoping to get your point of view on an issue I have seen happening more and more in contests. Why, in some cases, do contest holders ask all designers to copy another designers ideas? For example, saying in the comment section "#101 has the idea, I want all new entries to be based off that concept". I can understand if there is a concept that you like and you want to see variations of it, but why not work with the original designer instead of asking everyone to copy? It creates animosity within the design community and you may find designers fighting amongst each other instead of working on new concepts for you. Have any of you encountered this situation? I'd love to hear thoughts about it! Thanks!
14 years ago

Deluxedesign
As a new CH that got a great design from DAZ for my logo I can understand why CH's would ask for others to take concepts from one design and tell the entire community to work with that into their designs. As a new CH that was one of my first comments and then I read the rules. The reason I did so was that I think everyone has great designs and creativity, but as a CH if you find something a font or a color or a technique that you like you want people take that piece and see how others would use it and be creative with it. I never thought of it as stealing but more of telling everyone the direction I am going so that I could get everyone to focus and hopefully get designs that were great. You have to remember we are looking for your thoughts but we also want you to listen to ours. If I like a purple star then I want people to stop submitting red stars because I won't even look at them so I don't understand why the entire community wouldn't want that piece of information.